Englisk talk : Either neither

It’s for the first time that i am blogging from my smartphone, anyway blogging is a noun or a verb? Not too hard, just a little a complicated to switch apps in my low-end smartphone, from this app to some translator program, takes much ram.

Lets check later~

I am so depressed today and so was I was, yesterday. It’s my private problems. I am not going to share it, so what the point you tell us? :mrgreen:

My goal list in this month said that i should posting twice in this blog, i think this is for the first in this month, so what about topic? Let’s see, i don’t find any yet. Just a random writing, like a status in your fb? Maybe yea, because i don’t want to updates my fb status, so this is my fu*king-updates-fb-status.

Should i try to blog some info? My mind lead me into either or neither thing. I am not a language university student, so i am going to copypaste someone’s blog 😂

http://www.kaplaninternational.com/blog/how-to-use-either-neither-or-nor

Begini lah cara penggunaan either neither oleh situs kaplan diatas.

Adverbs,

examples:

  •   I don’t like spinach. – Neither do I.(begitu juga aku — kalimat- )
  •   I don’t like mushrooms. – No, I don’t like them either. (tidak, aku juga begitu — kalimat+ )

Determiners

ketika either and neither diposisikan sebelum kata benda

examples:

  • The house has a door at either end.
  • Neither journalist could finish their articles; there wasn’t enough time.

Pronouns

For all those instances when either and neither behave like pronouns, the structure of the sentence would be:

either/neither followed by of + noun phrase

When they act as pronouns either means ‘one or the other’ while neither indicates ‘not one or the other’

examples:

  • Both these roads go to Rome; you can go either way.
  • Neither of my arms is strong enough to lift that suitcase.

Conjunction

In all the cases in which we find “either” and “neither” as conjunctions, we also find them combined with “or” and “nor”.

either/or – They are used together to offer a choice between two things

examples:

  • You can either call me at home or at the office.
  • Either mum or dad will come to pick you up.

neither/nor – When they’re paired up they negate both parts of a statement.

examples:

  • Neither the blue one nor the red is available in size 4.
  • I will neither call you nor send you a message before midnight.

Has this cleared from your mind any doubts? If you have any questions, please ask them in the comments.

http://www.perfect-english-grammar.com/so-too-neither-either.html

Present simple: use ‘do / does’ Lucy likes coffee. So do I.
Lucy doesn’t like coffee. Neither do I.
Present simple with ‘be’: use ‘am / is / are’ John’s at the office. So am I.
John isn’t at the office. Neither am I.
Present continuous: use ‘am / is / are’ Luke’s going out tonight. So am I.
Luke isn’t going out tonight. Neither am I.
Past Simple: use ‘did’ Jill went to the cinema yesterday. So did I.
Jill didn’t go to the cinema yesterday. Neither did I.
Past simple with ‘be’: use ‘was / were’ She was at the library. So was I.
She wasn’t at the library. Neither was I.
Present perfect: use ‘have / has’ They’ve been to Colombia. So have I.
They haven’t been to Colombia. Neither have I.
Future simple: use ‘will’ Edward will be at the cafe later. So will I.
Edward won’t be at the cafe later. Neither will I.
Modal verbs: repeat the modal verb He would like a cup of tea. So would I.
He wouldn’t like a cup of tea. Neither would I.
Emma can speak Russian. So can I.
Emma can’t speak Russian. Neither can I.

What about ‘too’ and ‘either’?

We can also use ‘I do too’ and ‘I don’t either’, which mean the same as ‘so do I’ and ‘neither do I’:

  • John: I hate mushrooms.
  • Me: I do too (=I also hate mushrooms).
  • Lucy: I don’t live in London.
  • Me: I don’t either (=I also don’t live in London).

The verb changes in the same way as with ‘so do I’ and ‘neither do I’ (remember you need a negative verb with ‘either’):

  • Present simple: John’s at the office. I am too.
  • Present continuous: Luke isn’t going out tonight. I’m not either.
  • Present perfect: They’ve been to Colombia. I have too.
  • Modal verbs: Emma can’t speak Russian. I can’t either.

‘Me too’ and ‘me neither’:

We can also use ‘me too’ and ‘me neither’. ‘Me too’ has the same meaning as ‘so + auxiliary verb + I’ and ‘me neither’ has the same meaning as ‘neither + auxiliary verb + I’. ‘Me too’ and ‘me neither’ are very informal:

  • John: I hate mushrooms.
  • Me: Me too (=I also hate mushrooms).
  • Lucy: I don’t live in London.
  • Me: Me neither (=I also don’t live in London).

Subjects other than ‘I’:

Of course, we can also use these expressions to talk about what’s true for other people, not just ourselves:

  • John: I hate mushrooms.
  • Me: So does Laura / Laura does too / Laura too.
  • Lucy: I don’t live in London.
  • Me: Neither does David / David doesn’t either / David neither.

Some more examples:

  • We live in London and so do they.
  • Emma loves tennis. Jill and Laura do too.
  • My parents don’t come here often. Neither does Alex.
  • She isn’t French and neither is he.
  • You don’t like cold weather. Neither do we.
Leave a Reply

